HUGO BOSS

THE WINNER OF THE HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2014 TO BE ANNOUNCED ON NOVEMBER 20 AT THE SOLOMON R. GUGGENHEIM MUSEUM IN NEW YORK

(Metzingen/New York, NY) October 29, 2014—Richard Armstrong, Director of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation, and Claus-Dietrich Lahrs, Chairman and CEO of HUGO BOSS AG, are pleased to present the tenth iteration of the biennial HUGO BOSS PRIZE.

The 2014 winner will be announced at the awards ceremony on November 20, bringing together the worlds of art and fashion at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. The announced shortlist, nominated by the jury for the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2014, includes: Paul Chan, Sheela Gowda, Camille Henrot, Hassan Khan and Charline von Heyl.

"We feel privileged that together with the Guggenheim Foundation the HUGO BOSS PRIZE has honored so many talented artists over almost two decades and revealed the importance of their work to a broader public," said Mr. Lahrs. "We sincerely congratulate the five short-listed candidates on their nomination and are looking forward to the award ceremony on November 20."

"The prize is firmly established as one of the art world's most resonant accolades, honoring contemporary practices of enduring power and influence," said Richard Armstrong.

The HUGO BOSS PRIZE, which carries a stipend of \$100,000 USD, is administered by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. It honors an artist whose oeuvre makes a significant contribution to contemporary art and is open to all artists irrespective of age, gender, nationality or chosen medium, recognizing emerging talents as well as more established figures. The winner is selected by an international jury comprised of leading curators, critics and scholars.

HUGO BOSS

The 2014 jury is chaired by Nancy Spector, Deputy Director and Jennifer and David Stockman Chief Curator, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. The jurors are Katherine Brinson, Associate Curator, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; Doryun Chong, Chief Curator, M+, Hong Kong; Tim Griffin, Executive Director and Chief Curator, The Kitchen, New York; Polly Staple, Director, Chisenhale Gallery, London; and Ari Wiseman, Deputy Director, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation.

Since its creation in 1996, the HUGO BOSS PRIZE has been awarded to Matthew Barney, Douglas Gordon, Marjetica Potr**č**, Pierre Huyghe, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Tacita Dean, Emily Jacir, Hans-Peter Feldmann and Danh Vo.

For publicity images, please visit: guggenheim.org/pressimages User ID: photoservice Password: presspass

Further information on HUGO BOSS can be found at <u>www.hugoboss.com</u>. Please join the conversation on Instagram by following **@hugoboss** and using the hashtag **#HBP2014**.

Media Contacts:

Anna Rosa Thomae, FITZ & CO, <u>annarosa@fitzandco.com</u> Nicole Rumore, FITZ & CO, <u>nicole.rumore@fitzandco.com</u>